Thoughts on Passion Week

In the name of love, the journey towards new life has begun. Will the rocks cry out or will the stone be rolled away? What is your reality?

PassionWeek.webbutton

Thinking about Palm Sunday and the week ahead. I am perplexed at how life can be one big distraction when we seek to not live it on purpose. But what does living it on purpose even look like?

As I ponder this thought, I am reminded first of that which Christ did for me. He loved me even while I was still lost so much that He died for me to defeat death and give me new life.

How deep is this love for me? How does one even begin to comprehend this?

For me, it didn’t begin until I truly took not only a long hard look at the stuff I was carrying, but began to let go of it as well.

Carrying stuff you were never meant to carry quite frankly is us still with one foot in the door thinking we can do it on our own.

I love this line from a Brooke Fraser song called Albertine, I have seen now I am responsible.

And like this lyric was my life. When I saw the years of baggage (though I had felt it not being able to articulate it) I was now responsible.

So I began to let go of it and in this, the result has been like that of the effect of going to the doctor and having one’s ears cleaned out after years of neglect.

Suddenly I heard things at a completely new level.

So, as I ponder… In the name of love, the journey towards new life has begun. I recall my journey and view it through the lens of His journey and what He did to provide new life for all. I also ponder that which powered such a journey. Love powered it.

God so loved the world that He…

As my thoughts continue, I begin to contemplate the next sentence from my ponder.. Will the rocks cry out or will the stone be rolled away?

As I watch a depiction of Christ riding into Jerusalem on a donkey. I think about the statement the crowds praising Him. I think about the Pharisee challenging Jesus to then rebuke His disciples and yet, Jesus responds with..

“If they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”

How often are the stones around me filled more with praise than I?

I then consider this, how can the same mouth both bless and curse? This journey towards considering the rocks crying out over one’s lack of praise at least for me must go directly through the depiction of Jesus drawing lines in the sand.

“Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone.”

Yet how long will we continue to cast stones upon others and this world?

How can one mouth both bless and curse? How can one heart both praise and judge?

It would be foolish for me to think that rarely do the stones cry out?

I judge too much. I curse too much. But, when love got a hold of me… things began to change.

For the rocks not to cry out, I must ask whether I have let the stone be rolled away from the entrance of my heart? And so the journey towards new life has begun.

We celebrate it this week, but do we live it each week forever after? Do we believe it?

What keeps us from such liberation?

Pride and the very stuff we carry is the enemy of liberation. And, when one takes up a posture that opposes liberation the result is ___________.

The irony is that we oppose liberation and we don’t even know it.

What is your reality?

In the name of love, the journey towards new life has begun. Will the rocks cry out or will the stone be rolled away?

The now is your moment. Receive it and be free. Once and for all.

Leave a Reply

