My New Book Strategistics Began Here.

habkkukWhen I was promoted to the corporate office after managing a store for a regional chain of bookstores, my staff presented me with a Bible that had both my name engraved on it along with a verse.

The verse was Habukkuk 2:1

“I will climb up to my watchtower and stand at my guardpost. There I will wait to see what the Lord says and how he[a] will answer my complaint.”

To be honest, I had no idea why they chose this verse. For whatever reason, I never asked. I think everything was a whirlwind as I was thrown into a position while we were about to double our stores in a timespan of about 6 months.

As years past, I somehow was eventually promoted to a vice president position. While overseeing both operations and merchandising, I began developing a training strategy that was built upon clarity of message.

As I sat in the office one day with our then Director of Human Resources Aniel Yates, I explained our new plan. His response floored me.

“That sounds like Habakkuk 2:2, Simonsen.”

What I had realized that day, which was maybe 6-7 years after I had received that Bible was that I never turned the page to read verse 2.

“Then the Lord said to me, “Write my answer plainly on tablets, so that a runner can carry the correct message to others.””

That stuck with me then and still sticks with me today. When I later was promoted to run the company along with three others by the owner all at the same time, I would adopt a phrase that author Marcus Buckingham coined to really set the stage for how I would seek to communicate while in leadership.

“Clarity is the antidote to anxiety.”

So, I guess there should not be any surprise today as I look back on my career through the lens of my new book Strategistics which is now available for download at Amazon that clarity is the underlying component.

When asked recently what inspired my book, the thought took me back to this place of realization of that one day I learned of Habakkuk 2:2.

If you really want to know what fueled the inspiration internally for my book long before I knew I would ever dare write one, it was there.

It makes me ponder of how many times I have failed to turn the page. What pages are there waiting for you to turn right now? In this, perhaps another verse is waiting patiently for you to arrive so that it can provide even more insight, encouragement, and clarity for your life.

Here I am 16 years later almost to the day of when I received that gift. Who knew it would lead to this? I wonder what other pages await my turning?

One thought on “My New Book Strategistics Began Here.

  1. Reblogged this on Of Dachshunds and Men and commented:
    I’m taking today off from blogging in honor of Memorial day, however I thought I would share this. Gunnar Simonsen is a good friend and mentor, and I worked under him for five years at the position he gained this insight from. I can say having worked along side of him, “Clarity is the Antidote to Anxiety” wasn’t just his mantra, it was something he lived the entire time I worked for him. I appreciate the insights he gave me during that time and appreciate them more now that I’ve moved to other business endeavors.

Leave a Reply

