Amy Grant, Facebook, and Putting the Stone Down

Rarely do I opine like this. But in this case and in light of my journey these past many months, I had to. I had seen enough and read enough. I guess, it was just one of those days.

Below, you will see the actual post on a Facebook page for Parable about a new release by an artist named Amy Grant. (whom I have met several times.)

You will then see a Facebook user named Paul who decided he was going to take over the post with what you will see are his statements. After that, you will see Parable respond to Paul as best and cordially a brand can do in a situation like this.

Finally, you will read my response. If you have been reading my posts here, you will see my response through the lens of my journey. That being said, I was reluctant to say anything as I don’t want to appear in any way as someone that is without my issues. I just felt, you know what, enough is enough. Was my response okay? Was the tone appropriate? You be the judge.

ag

So not from a heart of holier than thou, but rather from a heart from enough is enough.

Paul: Are any of the songs about the divorce she chose to do? I can’t support her until I hear about that.

Chapman says that while his and Grant’s marriage had its share of rough waters, they had “a pretty good run” from the fall of 1986—following his admission of and subsequent recovery from drug use—until late 1994. “Our marriage has been painted as a very dark kind of thing, [that we] had trouble all along. That is not the truth. I’ve got way too many home videos and photographs and memories and laughs that bounce through my head occasionally.”

But, according to Chapman, Grant came to him in late 1994 and made a declaration that took him by surprise: “I don’t love you anymore. You’re the biggest mistake I’ve ever made… I’ve given my heart to another man.” In the November cover story, Grant told CCM MAGAZINE that she did not have an affair with Vince Gill, whom she met in 1993 at the taping of a network Christmas special. Chapman says he “chose to believe [Grant]” when she told him that the relationship with Gill was not sexual. In an interview in the Oct. 9, 1999, issue of Nashville’s daily paper, The Tennessean, Grant noted that while her relationship with Gill may have hastened the end of her marriage, she believes the final result was inevitable.

Chapman disagrees, indicating that he believes the relationship was the primary cause of the divorce. “I am torn between relying on the mathematical ability of intelligent people and the stark reality that a lot of people just don’t want to believe the obvious.”

Parable: There are two sides to every story. We weren’t there and don’t know the whole story. We hope that God has restored both of their lives. I was fortunate to be with Amy Grant a few weeks ago and hear her heart on these songs and the stories behind them. Thanks for letting us know your thoughts on this.

Me: Hey Paul, put down the stone. Your comment makes me sad. What happened between all of them is between them and God and I am sure it was not without a lot of hurt, pain, regret, and sorrow. Until I have walked in their shoes, who am I? Sadly, until someone can truly taste mercy, they themselves have yet to taste forgiveness. Please set Amy free, I believe God has.

2 thoughts on “Amy Grant, Facebook, and Putting the Stone Down

    • thanks so much!! I decided to start this blog aside from my main one so I can focus more on my life journey on a deeper more raw level and not confuse the message of my main blog which mixes business, marketing, causes, and life. I am honored you would stop by.

Leave a Reply

