Pondering Purpose, Peace, and Rest

bed32efecf0011e2a5cd22000a1fb0b0_7What if our purpose was to simply be a good steward of the now? What if rest was found by simply believing in God? What if peace was found by simply coming to grips with our past?

It seems to me that to fully experience life in Christ that it would mean one has a sense of purpose, peace, and rest in their life.

  • I sense purpose when my future is secure in Christ.
  • I sense peace when my past is secure on the cross.
  • I sense rest when their both secure from my belief in God.

Consider this:

John 10:27-29  27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one can snatch them away from me, 29 for my Father has given them to me, and he is more powerful than anyone else.[a] No one can snatch them from the Father’s hand.

Isaiah 53:5  But he was pierced for our transgressions,
he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was on him,
and by his wounds we are healed.

Psalm 62:5-8 Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
my hope comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
My salvation and my honor depend on God[a];
he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Trust in him at all times, you people;
pour out your hearts to him,
for God is our refuge.

And so again I ask… What if our purpose was to simply be a good steward of the now? With my peace and rest secure, perhaps my stewardship of now could look like this and my purpose is no longer what someday I shall do, but rather this moment what I shall do?

When my past and future do battle, it distracts me from that which stands right before me, and with this, another stack of moments tips on its side only to miss out on another opportunity to bless rather than to receive because I was thinking about me and not the very ones who were entrusted to me.

Isaiah 58:6-7 “No, this is the kind of fasting I want:
Free those who are wrongly imprisoned;
lighten the burden of those who work for you.
Let the oppressed go free,
and remove the chains that bind people.
Share your food with the hungry,
and give shelter to the homeless.
Give clothes to those who need them,
and do not hide from relatives who need your help.

2 thoughts on “Pondering Purpose, Peace, and Rest

  1. Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.

    The funny thing about the past is that it’s part of the future; likewise, the future is often part of the past. What we do today will impact what happens tomorrow. The thought of tomorrow often impacts what we choose to do today.

    So what are you passionate about and how are you acting upon it? Are you chasing the horizon or simply staring at it? What do you intend to build on it? God helps us in so many ways and leaves us with choices. Choices we have to make and if we make the wrong ones its still a learning. Was it bad or did we just perceive it was bad.

    We don’t pop out with instructions booklets, what fun would the journey be if we got up every morning and looked into the instruction book to see what we would do that day?

    There is an old Eagles song that says, don’t let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy. Failure is a way we learn, its what we do with the lesson that counts. Some wander through life aimlessly and some of us get in our steam train and stoke the coal box and off we go on another adventure, full steam ahead. God lets it unfold in its own time. We can push it forward but past experience can make us think we are on the wrong path but maybe its the path to make us see the light.

    • my friend, I am honored you have found me here. I appreciate these words of yours more than you know. They speak to me.

      This is a place I want to come to more often as I work through that which I am experiencing.

      Maybe someday, I’ll just drop the Squires bit… :0

Leave a Reply

