A Conversation About Perceived Purpose

purposeMe: Pondering: We lose sight of our perceived purpose when we place our eyes on someone else’s perceived relevance and then allow that to redefine our lack of perceived significance.

Don’t give up. Find these things not in the seen, but in the Unseen. Only there will you find your next breath.

Friend: You lost me at “perceived”

Me: That’s okay. You can’t win them all.  I guess what I am pondering is that sometimes our perception of purpose, relevance, and significance can come from things seen, by comparison to or expectation of others and not that of the Unseen. (God) In this, we follow the voice of the world and not that of the Spirit. Therefore what we perceive is our purpose, relevance, and significance often times really isn’t our true purpose, relevance, and significance.

Friend: We lose sight of our “true” purpose and relevance when we place our eyes on someone else’s “perception” of our relevance and then allow their perception to redefine us? Instead we should look to God (not others or even ourselves) to define our purpose?

Me: Exactly right and what I am saying! Well said.

Friend: Very powerful and deep my friend.

One thought on “A Conversation About Perceived Purpose

  1. “We lose sight of our “true” purpose and relevance when we place our eyes on someone else’s “perception” of our relevance and then allow their perception to redefine us? Instead we should look to God (not others or even ourselves) to define our purpose?”….Just wanted to say AMEN! I’ve learned this one the hard way and I’m continually learning and being reminded to see my worth, my “relevance”, my purpose in how God sees me and what He tells me in His Word about myself.

Leave a Reply

