Pondering the Taste of Mercy

mercy_largeWhen one tastes mercy, they begin to see not in others the effect of what they do, but rather the cause of what they’re doing.

Certainly there are consequences for cause and effect. But for the one who has tasted mercy and has witnessed the effect of the other, their first stop is to heal, and not that of to judge.

“Shouldn’t you have mercy on your fellow servant, just as I had mercy on you?” – Matthew 18:33

“And you must show mercy to those whose faith is wavering.” Jude 1:22

Perhaps in this, when I am quick to judge, perhaps it’s a sign to me that I have yet to fully taste mercy. This is sad because I can count as high as I can the amount of times mercy has been granted to me, yet I never tasted it.

O, the hurt, frustration, and sorrow this must have caused.

How come it is so hard to not taste that which you know you need? Is it pride, shame, arrogance, bitterness, or denial?

When this initial pondering of the taste of mercy came to mind, I remember standing there observing someone around a certain situation. In this, something so different to me crossed my heart as I sat there and watched. My first thought was of empathy and to see beyond that which my eyes were seeing. With this came a deep sense that I needed to pray for healing for this person.

What was so different about this was quite frankly in the past… judgement would have been my first thought. I would have lost myself in critical thoughts about this person and situation.

As I sat there with a deep sense of seeing the real story and wanting to pray for this person, I then started to feel guilty for the many times in my past where this was not the case.

But what was different? What caused this shift in my response to something I would have been critical of in the past 9 times out of 10? Mercy. Mercy caused this change.

To find yourself in a place finally ready to taste mercy means you have found yourself in a place where you were finally serious about what you have done that is the very cause for need of mercy.

The irony of all of this is that granted mercy of one’s actions can then unlock the ability for one to pursue the cause of their actions with the purpose of healing and correction, not blame and deflection.

Though mercy is often granted, it is not often tasted.

When one is ready to face the consequences of their actions, one is ready to taste the consequences of this granted mercy. What does the consequences of granted mercy taste like?

mer·cy (ˈmərsē) is compassion or forgiveness shown toward someone whom it is within one’s power to punish or harm.

Are you the “someone whom” in this definition of the word mercy? If so, then you too know what the consequences of granted mercy tastes like.

I began this ponder with this statement:

When one tastes mercy, they begin to see not in others the effect of what they do, but rather the cause of what they’re doing.

Perhaps if one reverse engineers this statement from the perspective of the one in need of mercy, one can then find the solution for what it takes to begin to taste mercy.

Until then, I will rest now. With this, I know I can, because I too… am a someone whom.

One thought on “Pondering the Taste of Mercy

  1. Pingback: Pondering Cockburn: Under the mercy and I’m ok. | Thoughts from the Horizon

Leave a Reply

