What if Your Red Sea Hurried Out of Your Way?

parting_sea

“The Red Sea saw them coming and hurried out of their way!” – Psalm 114:3

hur·ried (hûrd, hr-) Moving or acting rapidly. Required to move or act more rapidly; rushed.

I read this verse recently and like so many as of late, it stopped me in my tracks. Previously I had written about this same moment of time and though I am most certain I have read this verse many times, I never read it like this. It was almost like the key was in the keyhole, I just hadn’t turned it yet.

But is it I who turns the key?

It seems that too often, even if we feel that we are walking with God, we still find a way to brace for the worst as if we still are unsure of the path we are on. Or maybe that’s because for a slight second, we take our eyes off God and place them on what we think is our destination.

However, often times when we take our eyes off God, what we think is our destination, is really just a wall that separates us from our true destination. Or in this case, the Red Sea.

What does this look like to me?

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” – Proverbs 3:5-6

What I see and what God sees are different as long as I keep my eyes off God or even one eye on God and one eye on that which is before me. But as I trust in Him with all of my heart and lean not on my own understanding, He will make my path straight.

“Your road led through the sea, your pathway through the mighty waters— a pathway no one knew was there!” – Psalm 77:19 (NLT)

When I wrote about this previously, who knew that I would read several chapters later in the book of Psalms a description of the same story, but from a completely different vantage point?

Standing between despair and hope, faith puts the key in the door, but it is God who turns the key to unlock the door. Perhaps in what I previously wrote it was meant to portrait that which faith can put into motion when both eyes are on God trusting that He will pull you through. He will indeed make your path straight, even if what appears to lie before you is red sea-ish in nature.

I cannot explain life. I don’t know why somethings happen and why other things don’t.

With one eye on God and one eye on the the storm, one can only hope for a rescue. Yet, when one has both eyes on God, perhaps it is that very same storm that then becomes the one.. in hope of the rescue.

And so I ponder, what does a life look like that would cause the obstacles before it to hurry out of the way upon seeing it coming?

Leave a Reply

