Looking for Work in His Word

Bible-007“Read My Word and you will know.”

These were the words that came in response to a crying out to God nearly twenty years ago. At a place of crossroads, I had no idea where I was going in life. I knew God, but I knew not His invitation to join Him in His work.

At another crossroads in life recently, I found myself reflecting back on that moment. It was a moment that will ring throughout history in the very depths of my life. It was in that moment that I heard His voice. Yes, it was His voice.

You know those moments where you know that you know that you know that what you are hearing is not simply your inner voice, but rather His still small voice? This was one of them.

And yet, nearly twenty years later, it still reverberates deep within my soul and challenges me to my core. Once again staring uncertainty in the face, I needed to find stability in some sort of fashion with regards to my profession. As an independent contractor coming out of the corporate world, I guess I still don’t even know what stability looks like. But I digress.

But there I was up late one evening in bed feeling a sense of urgency to begin looking at job opportunities wherever I could find the relevant ones for me. Yet what was calling me there was the same needs which called me there nearly two decades ago.

Yet in this, my crossroads were unique once again in this very same situation.

Rather than looking through job opportunities this one evening, I heard His voice once again speak these now all too familiar words…

“Read My Word and you will know.”

And why not, last time I did this, I ended up on a path that led me to a 14 year experience that started at $6.50 an hour to running that same company and three other sister companies simultaneously. Who could have ever scripted that?

Perhaps God wants to do something new again? Scratch that, perhaps He already is.

I recall shortly after this recent trial began that I shared this verse I had read ironically right before it all started…

“For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.” – Isaiah 43:19

Thank you God for Your word. It does not return void. In it I find hope. If my work is to be about Your work, then why on earth would I start to look anywhere else?

 

Leave a Reply

