Pondering: Seek Ye First Living

4The thing about seek ye first living is that it’s truly impossible without faith. Defying conventional wisdom has a way of doing that to you.

I have read this a thousand times. I have recited it a thousand times. But, have I even lived it a single time?

“30 Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?

31 “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” – Matthew 6:30-34

I lay here in bed as I type this pondering the future. Certainly, times and time again, the Father has met all of our needs. Even when we did not see it possible, the ALL things are possible God showed up. All of this, even despite my own lack of faith.

I often question.. why has He cared for me so? Even as I have given Him every reason not to, He has.

Yet, I sit here in an all too familiar place. I can feel the pipes in the basement starting to shake. This means the pressure is starting to make itself known. How will we survive? What if that doesn’t turn out as hoped? Where do I even turn?

What of this time it were different? What if this time I turned to the Kingdom of God first? What does that even look like? I realize that I need to be a good steward of my time and the resources God has placed in my care. But I must not fool myself. He is provider, not me.

If I did seek ye first the Kingdom of God, would all those things truly be added unto me? How does one even begin to wrap themselves around this one without first dying to oneself?

What if the antidote to lack of clarity for one’s future is service for one’s neighbor or seeking first the Kingdom? This same antidote works for doubt, sorrow, and a whole host of other things. Too often, we seek first our own understanding and then expect to find our path straight.

But, what if in seeking first the Kingdom of God we indeed did trust the Lord with all our heart and leaned not on our own understanding? Is a straight path even possible?

I believe so.

Not sure of what lies ahead? Start here (see below) and know this… all those things He mentioned shall be added unto you. Don’t fret. Be diligent in your pursuit of His kingdom. He is who He says He is.

“6 “No, this is the kind of fasting I want: Free those who are wrongly imprisoned; lighten the burden of those who work for you. Let the oppressed go free, and remove the chains that bind people. 7 Share your food with the hungry, and give shelter to the homeless. Give clothes to those who need them, and do not hide from relatives who need your help.” – Isaiah 58:6-7

2 thoughts on “Pondering: Seek Ye First Living

  1. Pingback: The Right Thing | Thoughts from the Horizon

  2. Pingback: Pondering Stability | Thoughts from the Horizon

Leave a Reply

