She’s 16. I’m a mess.

1619359_10203379331787040_1087454435_nIt’s been awhile since I posted here last. I sat and stared tonight at the decorations still up tonight in our house with the number 16 on them. Yes, my daughter and only child is now 16 years old.

As I sat there staring intently at that number, it was like the past 16 years passed before my eyes in a blink. It took everything within me not to just completely lose it.

What has happened to my baby girl?

As an only child and one that quite frankly we were never even supposed to expect, I struggle with being too over protective. I mean, you got to set them up for success, right? I read once where parenting was like archery. All their lives growing up you do your best to aim them right, but at some point you have to let them go and just pray you aimed them right.

10 years ago while watching my daughter at the age of 6 raise thousands of dollars for children rescued out of the sex trade because as she says, they were the brothers and sisters she never had and felt like she had to take care of them, I was struck with something so profound.

Instead the question we have all heard which asks the question of what kind of world are we going to leave our children.. I felt convicted to turn this question around and instead ask.. what kind of children are we going to leave our world.

And so I sat there tonight. In just a few short years, she’ll be an adult. This means that in the blink of an eye I too will come to that place in life of letting go. Can I be honest? I hate this. My eyes well up with tears just thinking about it. But this, this is the cycle of life.

I still have a little time, but how shall I spend it? I think i’ll simply spend it doing one thing…

Aiming well… God help me.

Leave a Reply

