I saw hope in spring

7BA5C0731771423E98792233C3A8E54A.ashx“No matter how long the winter, spring is sure to follow.” – Proverb

What I saw in spring today was hope. But not just an empty hope, but a hope knowing and fully anticipating what comes next and without fail.

The arrival of spring brings forth the arrival of new life or in most cases renewed life as it arises from the winter’s long dark night.

I’ve had a difficult few weeks. Though I could not put my finger on it, something was afoot. It was as if something was up to something by way of seeing fit to wear me down. A good boxer knows the weakness of its opponent and therefore with jab after jab after upper cut after right hook after body blow combinations finally arrives the 10th round. With the opponent beaten down, here it comes.

I almost hit the canvas several times today. But instead, I took a walk.

I’m glad I did. In the past, I would have not given myself permission to do so. Today, I did.

I saw spring on that walk. I did not expect to. But what hit me was the hope I found in it.

It was as if to say firmly… it’s coming.

Don’t we all need it to come?

And isn’t that ironic? After weeks of body blow combinations and today’s upper cuts and right hooks, what hit back was hope from the sight of spring.

Wow, I didn’t expect that. And here’s the deal, when hope hits back unexpectedly like it did me today, there’s no counter for it.

For what could possibly outshine the hope of spring?

“For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?” – Isaiah 43:19

Leave a Reply

