Pondering Stability

10431941_1462949330614906_1893843095_nThe opposite of stable is unstable yet the Son of God was born in one. Certainly, it’s a play on a duel meaning of the word stable. But the path to find one, is found on the path to find the other.

Get a job

This question comes to mind as I have been told by some over these past few years that what I needed to find was something more stable. Of course, we were discussing employment and the unending recidivism of the life of feast or famine. In other words, the life of an independent contractor.

I have struggled with this recommendation in so many ways. Was it me? Was it pride? What does a stable job even look like in this day an age that would provide the support needed for my family? One that matched my talents, needs, and hopes.

So I looked. And I looked. And I…

I found it on the backside of a hill

What kept me from “something” that reflected that of stability? And even more so, why did I need something stable?

One morning as I walked up on the hill, it dawned on me. No wonder I could never find what I was looking for. I was looking in all the wrong places.

As I made my way down the backside of the hill, a question came to mind.

“What does stability look like?”

Typically, I would have responded to such a question by answering it through the lens of finances and the stuff of earth. But this time was different. It was as if the question went from what does to who is. Here i’m thinking it’s a 9-5, benefits, and pays amount x. But is that really the answer? It seemed pretty obvious. Surely there is a lot more to what I have been seeking than simply this?

“Who does stability look like?”

Psalm 62:6 reads “He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defence; I shall not be moved.”

Sure sounds like stability to me. One definition for the word stable reads as not likely to change or fail; firmly established.

Perhaps in searching after the what, what I needed was to search after the who? It always seems that we are closer to the answer than we think, yet we’ve just got it all backwards.

What I need is something stable. Why do I need something stable? To live. Peace of mind. Provision. To meet my needs.

I wrote recently about Matthew 6 in that too often what we do is seek ye first “all these things” so that the kingdom shall be added unto us. But, that’s not right. That’s backwards. We need to seek ye first the kingdom and all these things shall be added unto us.

In the NLT, Matthew 6:33 reads “Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.”

Perhaps in my pursuit to find something stable, I need to seek first the One who is stable. Perhaps my motives and intentions were right, I just mixed up the starting blocks with the finish line.

To find stability one must seek first He who is stability. 

And so therefore I say again..

The opposite of stable is unstable yet the Son of God was born in one. Certainly, it’s a play on a duel meaning of the word stable. But the path to find one, is found on the path to find the other.

Life otherwise is like that of a ship wayward at sea without a rudder. Anything but stable.

The application of that which I need when built atop the infrastructure of what I think is stable will never last. Yet, when I build the application of that which I need atop the infrastructure of who I know is stable, it will last.

I love this quote from John Piper, “God is most glorified in us, when we are most satisfied in Him.”

Doesn’t everything begin and end with God and His kingdom and righteousness? Don’t we still do everything we can to say yes I know, God, but..?

What if the path to find a stable job(s) so I can consistently meet my needs began with seeking first the very One who was born in a stable? What if seeking His kingdom first DID result in what He said it would? And what if my needs were aligned with His?

In the end, I prayed for something and in return I got Someone. I went out in search for something stable. What I found is the One who was born in a stable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

