I want to be in a Holy downpour

891378_604774602971645_375463661_nI was driving home in the rain the other day when something struck me so obvious. Rain is special. For it can both wash away the stuff that builds up on the road of life and it can feed the soil of life that brings forth new things.

It was an odd moment that I needed like oxygen. I did not see it coming. I mean, it was a mess outside and never fun to drive in. But there I was, pondering.

Man how I drank that moment in with all I had.

Oh how I want for a simultaneous washing away of all that has built up on my road while all the while setting free the seeds that find themselves deep within the soil waiting to spring forth new life.

Father, wash me clean. Father, make all things new in me.

Oh how I want to be in a Holy downpour. To be beneath the rain of God is to be beneath that which makes all things new. That which makes things better than whole. That which brings hope and a new perspective.

Father, wash me clean. Father, make all things new in me.

I grew up in Oregon. If anyone knows rain, I know rain. It sometimes rained so much that I could not bear another day of it. But then, something happened. Spring happened. New life happened. Perspective happened.

Oh how it I need it now.

Oh how I want to be in a Holy downpour.

I was driving home in the rain the other day when something struck me so obvious. Rain is life-giving.

 

Leave a Reply

