Go ahead and smile

“Peace begins with a smile” – Mother Teresa

I literally set out that evening looking for something to smile about. So, I figured seeing an old friend play music at a local coffee shop might do the trick.

Sometimes we say something so prophetic, yet we don’t even know it. It’s as if we speak it with every fibre of our being, yet we don’t believe it. All it is is a desperate ploy to cast anything positive into life’s current to see if it even has a chance to stick.

Certainly, it doesn’t always play out in such an obvious way as this did, but I do believe it does happen more often than we know it.

I had felt defeated, deflated, hopeless, useless, and at the end of my rope. Yet in this, with everything in me, I had set out on a mission to find something to smile about. My hope was that if I could find something to smile about, everything would change, if even for just one moment.

If life is a stack of moments, perhaps this could be a moment in which I could stack more moments upon.

As I stood there in the parking lot with my friend after his set was over, he pulled out his phone to look for a rough mix of a new song he had written for his next record. As he found the text message with the file in it, he pressed play.

It was an instrumental song called.. wait for it… “Go ahead and smile.”

It was as if I had received permission that moment to just do that which I was looking for in something else to cause me to do but hadn’t yet found.

Life doesn’t always have something for us to smile about. Life can be filled with hurt, pain, sorrow, and everything in between. Yet, I learned once that life is 10% what happens to us and 90% how we react to it.

So, no matter what I had been facing, I could still even in the midst of it… go ahead and smile. Life is going to be alright. It won’t always be easy and often times seem like too much to carry.

But why wouldn’t I go ahead and smile anyway?

The One who made me redeemed me and even still… has gone before me. Despite all my efforts to extinguish the work of His hand, He is my smile and He will not leave me nor forsake me.

I think of the many times that various people we’ve read about who threw themselves at the feet of Jesus in hopes and belief that yet after all these years of suffering, He would heal them. In this, so many times we saw the hand of Jesus restore, rebuild, renew, and redeem the faithful that crossed paths with His.

With this comes new life. His pursuit of us is unending and never ceasing. It is unmatched by anything the world has ever seen.

I can only imagine the mark of such a transaction. And that is a scary thought. Too often, that’s just it.. we imagine if.

Perhaps in this, when life is difficult and we go ahead and smile anyway, maybe just maybe… this transaction then becomes no longer something we imagine if, but rather… carry with.

“‘Tis easy enough to be pleasant, When life flows along like a song; But the man worth while is the one who will smile when everything goes dead wrong.” – Ella Wheeler Wilcox

Pondering tonight my posture as I face new horizons. Pondering my ability to no matter what… go ahead and smile. This is not a posture of denial, but a posture of confidence in the One who’s gone before me and whom will never leave me. The very One who has redeemed me.

It’s amazing that sometimes we really do find what we set out for. The problem is, it’s always more difficult to find something, when our eyes are closed.

Grateful that for this night, He made the blind see.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

