Missing Dad on His 84th Birthday

996819_10151760668109747_768542988_n

Today is November 4th, 2014.

My dad would have been 84 years old today. I sure do miss him.

I think in honor of him this day I will…

Put on Misty by Erroll Garner and savor every note.

Take time out to visit Cooper Mountain to enjoy every breath.

Listen closely to every word spoken to me.

Wear a hat.

Swing a golf club.

Play more jazz.

Not let a song pass me by without letting it do to me.. what it is going to do to me.

Laugh.

Remember the good times.

Tap my finger to the songs I hear.

Read an article about Bill Elliot.

Dance along to a Beach Boys song (Like that one time you did.)

Walk down the street to where that manhole cover with GTE is on it and take a picture of it.

Go through the voter’s guide and draw an X over the faces of those I did not vote for.

Enjoy every breath.

Be confident that everything is going to be alright.

Tell my family I love them.

And that’s just for starters. I love you dad. I miss you very much.

Son.

Posted in dad

Leave a Reply

