Pondering Cockburn: Under the mercy and I’m ok.

tumblr_mmx1blnVL21s9rnz8o1_500That moment that after everything else you’ve gone through that you know that you’ll be okay is called traction. I love these lyrics found in a Bruce Cockburn song called Fascist Architecture..

“I’ve been in trouble but I’m ok
Been through the wringer but I’m ok
Walls are falling and I’m ok
Under the mercy and I’m ok”

John Mark Reynolds wrote once in a piece entitled “On Being Under the Mercy” these words about why he signs most of his letters with “Under the mercy” on them.

“There came a day when I failed every ideal, denied my dreams, and lost hope.

I hated myself and what I had become: a failure.

But laying on the floor of an upstairs bedroom, crying, I found Mercy, not just mercy. I had known mercy: my parents, my friends, my family, my wife were all merciful. If forgiveness is, in the words of Jane Eyre, the “mightiest sword”  . . . I had been pierced with mercy: unmerited forgiveness, grace, and hope. I was thankful for it, but it hurt as much as it healed.

That day, however, I met Mercy. This Mercy was such a mighty sword that it cut my soul and divided my passions, so flawed, from my better self. It cut off dreams of what I wanted and left me with goodness, truth, and beauty.

I was awash in beauty and the pain of beauty when I was so ugly.

I have never been the same since. Mercy fell on me and it was a severe Mercy. It left me better: happy without sappiness, hopeful without illusions, and romantic without darkness.

Of course, I have failed the truth of that moment many times, but I cannot escape it. Some live passion, I live for this Severe Mercy, because it came with Jesus.

I love Jesus for His severe Mercy.”

Previously, I too have pondered mercy and the effect it has on one who has tasted it. You can read that post, here.

I love what John Mark Reynolds says when he said this, “I have never been the same since. Mercy fell on me and it was a severe Mercy. It left me better: happy without sappiness, hopeful without illusions, and romantic without darkness.”

Perhaps in this, truly then His mercy does awaken the soul. Now how then shall I live with this new great awakening?

Under His mercy.. daily of course.

2 thoughts on “Pondering Cockburn: Under the mercy and I’m ok.

  1. Pingback: My Return to Christmas: 4 Years Later | Thoughts from the Horizon

  2. Pingback: The Power of Being… Ok | Thoughts from the Horizon

Leave a Reply

