I read 66 books this year.

Route66Road©-Dmitry-RogozhinI read 66 books this year. Well, and a couple more beyond that. The last few years, it has been my personal goal to at least read 66 books every year. Nearly twenty years ago or so, I started my quest of each year reading 66 books.

Somewhere along the line, I fell out of step with this goal. After reading 66 books per year for nearly 7 years straight or so, it trailed off. I would then read far far less each year.

Not that it’s a lock or a good luck charm or even just another check on the list of things we are supposed to do, but I find that those years when I was actively reading at least 66 books per year were always the one’s I grew the most… in a positive way.

When I wasn’t and my reading discipline lacked, well.. discipline, things oddly enough didn’t go as well. Matter of fact, they went full-on backwards.

There is more than enough documentation that will back up the many benefits to reading regularly. And to me, I see the fruit of these benefits the more I press in.

Much like heading to the gym to workout on a consistent basis, over time, your disciplined approach will pay off in a myriad of ways. Thus too with reading.

In looking back on my life at anything worth emulating in the future I find only a few things that have mattered most to me and that have shown any real results.

Reading the 66 books of the Bible each year is one of them.

Psalm 119:9-11 (NASB)

9 How can a young man keep his way pure?
By keeping it according to Your word.
10 With all my heart I have sought You;
Do not let me wander from Your commandments.
11 Your word I have treasured in my heart,
That I may not sin against You.

Leave a Reply

