What Would Become of Valentine’s Day? (Plan for the Day After)

heartstoneA short piece I wrote on Valentine’s Day that is really meant for the day after and the day after that.

Today is certainly a day for some to outwardly express their love for one another because it is that day to outwardly share our love for one another. But, what would become of Valentine’s Day if not tomorrow and the next were marked with anything but? What about everyone else on a day such as this?

I see a lot of happiness to heartbroken-ness and everything in-between on Facebook this day as well as the days leading up to this day. And much like the sounds of fireworks to a veteran on independence day, today too can be a day that evokes emotions of sadness, hurt, and everything in between in so many that have faced their own life’s battles.

So, if I could for just a moment act as Cupid and therefore aim my quiver of arrows at all those I have such love for in this world and this side of heaven, please allow me to take aim your direction…

To my beautiful wife… I love you.
To my beautiful daughter… I love you.
To my amazing mom Mom… I love you.
To my family in other places… I love you.
To those apart from their loved ones today… you are loved.
To those who have lost a loved one and are alone today… you are loved.
To those who are single and alone today… you are loved and you matter.
To my homeless friends under the bridge… you are loved and you matter.
To the unloved… you are loved. I know this because Jesus tells me so.
To my God… thank you. You loved me when I deserved it least.

Are you loved today, than be sure to tell those who love you that you love them too. But if you are loved today and have friends and family who feel unloved today, even more so, tell them they are loved today.

And for both come tomorrow and the next, don’t just tell them they are loved…

Show them.

What would become of Valentine’s Day if not tomorrow and the next were marked with anything but?

This.. that’s what.

Leave a Reply

