When Disappointment Becomes Perspective

photoI was disappointed today. Something I sought, didn’t come to be. So, I went to the hill to gain perspective. I gave myself permission to pause and reflect.

I started by asking God to not let my heart grow hardened. He responded with.. give thanks. And so I did.

And then I arrived at the trail head and began my trek into what we call the inner-sanctuary in what I call the upper bowl of the park.

Fighting off discouragement, the birds sang as they playfully danced about the forest as I entered in. Perhaps they were singing to me…

“Don’t worry about a thing, ‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.”

With each step afterward, what came not only to my mind, but to my heart was..

“Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?” – Matthew 6:26

The three little birds know what they’re talking about after all. If we would just believe, trust, and have faith perhaps then I would have the kind of hope that would bring courage?

As the promise of those words sprung forth in my deepest parts, my journey through the upper bowl continued.

Just a little further down the trail I stopped at the fork of four directions. The sun was angled just right to call attention to this one tree that stood there so proudly and with yet a wise confidence that seemed to have weathered many storms.

I was struck by this. I then heard a voice telling me to..

“Stand tall. Don’t retreat. Be confident in me and in this find a new confidence in you that I am with you always.”

I turned to the right choosing to remain in the upper bowl and continue my trek through this inner-sanctuary. It felt good to breathe. I wondered for a moment.. when did my disappointments slip away from within my heart and mind? When did they give way to hope despite?

Towards the end of today’s trek, I saw a large bird perched atop a tree. It caught my eye though camouflaged against the backdrop of nature’s beauty. I stopped and stared as it lunged forward and took flight.

It was beautiful watching it spread its wings and soar. I stood there in awe watching as it circled the skies above soaring within the wind’s rhythm. It seemed effortless. It seemed so free. Yet, it also seemed like it was working up something for that something which might be next.

Then it happened.. as if to square its shoulders and bear down, the bird shot north with the power and majesty only known to such creatures. (So I thought)

It makes me ponder the words of my friend Elmer from the Philippines. He told me once that I needed to stop flapping my wings and to start soaring. When you flap your wings you work against the wind. When you soar, you work with the wind.

I then heard a voice telling me that that which I sought that didn’t come to pass was not about it coming to pass as much as it was in letting you find confidence in soaring again. Don’t be disappointed or discouraged but be ready.. I will make you soar again. Will you let me?

The wind is unpredictable. It is turbulent. It can be scary. But, if you trust Me, you can begin to soar with the wind again. To learn to fly you must get out of the nest. You have become “comfortable” in the nest this season’s past, but behold, I am doing a new thing.

It is time for you to soar again. For again I say unto you..

“Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?” – Matthew 6:26

Yes. I. am.

Be of hope, courage has come. You are valued.

I was disappointed today. Something I sought, didn’t come to be. So, I went to the hill to gain perspective. I gave myself permission to pause and reflect.

I’m sure glad I did for it was here that disappointment became my perspective and therefore this perspective turned out to be my breakthrough.

…though I am not sure why two birds appeared in that picture from this morning when there was only one. Pondering what it looks like for every little thing to be..

all right.

This post is about life and the journey. Not about jobs, projects, or anything in between. It’s about learning to breathe and hearing His voice. Reading between the lines isn’t always what you think it to be. Thus parables become real life and real life is found in the parable.

Sing with me…

“Three Little Birds”

“Don’t worry about a thing,

‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.
Singin’: “Don’t worry about a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right! “Rise up this mornin’,
Smile with the risin’ sun,
Three little birds
Each by my doorstep
Singin’ sweet songs
Of melodies pure and true,
Sayin’, (“This is my message to you-ou-ou: “)Singin’: “Don’t worry ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.”
Singin’: “Don’t worry (don’t worry) ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right! “
One thought on “When Disappointment Becomes Perspective

  1. Pingback: What Was Lost Actually Is That Which Is Found? | Thoughts from the Horizon

Leave a Reply

