Guest Post: A shadow over mind and heart

10561133_725467714198027_1092121084_n

Darkness comes
It may be swift
Explosive
Or sly
Slow
Deceptive
A shadow over mind and heart
Fight or flight is the question
First response?
Fly far and fast
Dark sky feels cold-unsafe
His love sweeps in warmth-hope
Sunlight breaks the dark
Feet land on the ground
The dark shadow is behind
Light is ahead
Peace ensues

Word: Traci Simonsen • Photo: Me

I took this photo on my phone in Columbus, Ohio the evening of one of the most challenging days I can remember. How ironic that that whole afternoon where I was had tornado warnings going off all around me. Frankly, it was also deep within me that too, was experiencing tornado warnings that entire day. In this, this picture will always be a reminder of me that His peace does indeed… ensue.

Leave a Reply

