Guest Post: What Lurks Behind

10808867_1008538009172199_282117157_n

I love Shadows. Why? It’s a reminder.

It’s a reminder of our dark and somber moments of the past. We are called to shed light to the world and spread love to everyone and everything. Our light is ahead and our shadows are behind.

These shadows stay behind us-reminding us of how far we’ve come. See, the dim shade only goes out to a certain extent. Whereas, the light is always growing and advancing in size.

Sometimes we don’t feel like we are a radiant light. In fact we may feel the exact opposite. We let the hurt and gloom of the past consume us. For example, some of the lyrics in the song “Forget” by Marina and the Diamonds talks about this.

“I have lived my life in debt. I’ve spent my days in deep regret. Yeah, I’ve been living in the red. Oh, ’cause I can’t forgive and I can’t forget.-Ever since I can remember life was like a tipping scale. Like an abacus I played with counting every win and fail.”

Don’t let the events and actions of the past control you. Allow your light to shine because you bring joy to this world.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” ~ Martin Luther King Jr.

Word: Kira Simonsen • Photo: Kira Simonsen

Kira on Instagram: @Hoopla68

Leave a Reply

