Fourth of July with Dad: An 1812 Overture

11348381_841132729288470_1355956469_n

I think one of my earliest memories of music and the Fourth of July had to have been at the age of four when Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops thrust Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture into our annual celebration. Every year thereafter, we’d watch the broadcast on OPB.

Of course, I do understand the song’s origin. And, regardless of how one might be celebrating or not celebrating the Fourth this year, I will celebrate the memory of driving up to skyline with my dad to catch a glimpse of the different firework shows scattered throughout the city while listening to the radio blaring 1812 in concert with the big Fort Vancouver firework show.

I don’t know what thrilled me most… watching the fireworks or watching my dad enjoying the music watching the fireworks.

Yet, as I think back and if I am truly honest, I would have to say that which thrilled me most was that after all these many years later… I still remember that moment with a smile.

I know many that sadly don’t have any such memories as this. For this, my heart breaks. I am so sorry. Truly.

So, with that being said as well as for all those who are just exhausted from the constant fight that fills up our social media feeds as of late..

I would like to invite you to join me here for a few minutes up on “skyline” where there’s a place to park and a break in the trees so we can watch the fireworks burst forth upon the sky across the cityscape before us.

And now that we have found the perfect place to pull over and watch, sit back with me and dad while we get lost for a few minutes from the “stuff of life” and listen to an incredible masterpiece forever known as.. Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture…

Press play. Enjoy. G! (After probably a short silly commercial.)

Posted in dad

Leave a Reply

