I found encouragement in a 10,000 Maniacs song..

613xa54r7XLFrom time to time as to time stamp my life, I’ll make a post on this page regarding a song that has brought encouragement into my life.

Recently, I pulled out one of the first CDs I had purchased back in the 80’s when I first got a CD player. Its a CD by 10,000 Maniacs called In My Tribe and it was released in 1987.

Over the past several months, I have found a deep connection with the song Like the Weather. Though in interviews, singer Natalie Merchant has denied the song has any correlation with depression and such, I still for one have found it to totally correlate.

As someone who has battled depression and now find myself in close quarters with one who too, is in a deep dark battle with depression, I found encouragement in this song in knowing that someone else out there gets it, too.

But its not just that. Its the lyric part way through the song that sings “I say my prayers nightly this will pass away” that causes me each time I hear it to raise my hand and declare that this will indeed pass away. This being season of life.

“Like The Weather”

Color of the sky as far as I can see is coal grey.
Lift my head from the pillow and then fall again.
Shiver in my bones, just thinking about the weather.
Quiver in my lip as if I might cry.

Well by the force of will my lungs are filled and so I breathe.
Lately it seems this big bed is where I never leave.
Shiver in my bones, just thinking about the weather.
A quiver in my voice as I cry,

What a cold and a rainy day.
Where on earth is the sun hid away?

Hear the sound of a noon bell chime.
Well I’m far behind.
You’ve put in ’bout half a day
while here I lie
With a shiver in my bones just thinking about the weather.
A quiver in my voice as if I might cry,

What a cold and rainy day.
Where on earth is the sun hid away?

Do I need someone here to scold me
or do I need someone who’ll grab and pull me out of four poster dull torpor pulling downward.
For it is such a long time since my better days.
I say my prayers nightly this will pass away.

The color of the sky is grey as I can see through the blinds.
Lift my head from the pillow and then fall again
Shiver in my bones just thinking about the weather.
A quiver in my voice as if I might cry,

A cold and a rainy day.
Where on earth is the sun hid away?
A cold and a rainy day I shiver, quiver, and try to wake.

Leave a Reply

