Pondering My Rwanda Experience Part 9

 

DSCN7907stadium.jpg

Night time view from our guest house of Kigali, Rwanda

Not able to sleep, I woke up early this morning and decided to sit out on the balcony outside at the guest house here in Rwanda.

They say it’s always darkest before dawn, and it is but for the coming haze like glow which begins to fill the landscape with silhouettes of nearby trees and houses before me.

And then it began like a subtle rush to begin the day, the birds began to sing.

(It’s funny, as I re-type this 2 weeks later lying in bed in my own house a half a world a way, the birds too, began to sing outside my bedroom window.)

I don’t know when they started, they just did. It was like a perfect film score that ushered in the rhythm of this land we now find ourselves in.

The audience is listening.

As I sit here in pause, I hear a group of people singing in the distance as a bird flies up and lands on the balcony before me. It was just for a moment though, the singing that is. It came and went as if to tease me of what would lie before me in the days ahead. It was the most remarkable of sounds as if Heaven itself was on display.

A helicopter in the distance now flies by as daylight begins to rise up within this low cloud coverage that now blankets Kigali like a fresh snow.

Yet still, the birds are singing a most magnificent of songs. One cannot simply ignore this. Its as if they sing with a joyful conviction of sorts. So effortless, care free, and pure. Its penetrating, if one allows it to be.

With this happening before me, I am reminded of a song by Bob Marley. It’s called Three Little Birds.

Sing with me..

Rise up this mornin’,
Smile with the risin’ sun,
Three little birds
Pitch by my doorstep
Singin’ sweet songs
Of melodies pure and true,
Sayin’, (“This is my message to you-ou-ou: “)

Chorus:
Singin’: “Don’t worry ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.”
Singin’: “Don’t worry (don’t worry) ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right! “

I have always loved that song and I have always heard about these birds here in Rwanda. Perhaps they rise early not to merely awake one from a good nights sleep, but rather instead to remind us of something we too often forget?

“Look at the birds, free and unfettered, not tied down to a job description, careless in the care of God. And you count far more to Him than birds.” – The Message

Perhaps their message for me today is this… I matter, I am valued, and I am loved.. and that if they are taken care of, how much more me/us?

The name Gunnar means warrior, but I must confess something.. too often, I am nothing but a mere worrier. I worry way too much about things I should never worry about. I worry about about things that more often than not, never come to be.

Its a paralysis from analysis of sorts of all things that should have never have mattered in the first place of sorts.

Was this the message for me this early morning after hours upon hours of traveling just to get here? Ironically, as we had boarded the plane however many days it was before to get here, I was led in my daily reading to read that very same passage as well.

Something tells me that this indeed was a message for me. A message I have so desperately needed to hear for longer than I can remember. Why it took 9,000 miles for me to hear it, I guess that is for a future ponder. But for now..

As I finish re-typing these thoughts of which I wrote on the balcony that early morning two weeks past in Rwanda, the birds are no longer singing here at home and in this, perhaps this also was a message to me..

Singin’: “Don’t worry ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.”
Singin’: “Don’t worry (don’t worry) ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right! “

They say its always darkest before dawn. Perhaps now… this was my dawn.

I matter. I am valued. He loves me so.

Pondering my Rwanda experience

Leave a Reply

