People Matter.

Car fueling at the gas station

I don’t know his name, but I was like his 2nd or 3rd customer as he struggled to pump mine and the other customers gas. He stood out to me. I had been going to this gas station for years, but there was something about him.

He was trying so hard, but struggling so much that he was apologetic. I mean, he literally just started working there a few minutes before I arrived.

I remember sitting there wondering what his story was. We all have a story. We just don’t wake up one day experienced.

He seemed to be one that has not lived an easy life.

Seemingly in his mid-forties, he walked with a limp and appeared to me as one who tried hard his entire life to fit in and just be accepted. You could hear it in his apologetic and quite frankly defeated voice.

My heart felt it. My heart felt it in every last word, as if in each, sat the weight of a thousand lifetimes.. or maybe a thousand rejections.

Looking over my shoulder and out the rear passenger side window, he stood there pumping my gas. I told him he was doing fine and that it would be ok and that there was no need to apologize to me. He paused for a second amidst the other cars lined up and seemed shocked that I would even speak to him and tell him such words.

Why wouldn’t I? Why wouldn’t any of us? Are we just too dang important, too busy, or just too distracted with our technology?

I told him he would do fine and he would be a pro at this in no time. And then words flowed from my mouth that I didn’t expect.

I told him he was a good man.

You would have thought the world stopped at that very moment. The look he gave me I will never forget. The weight of a thousand lifetimes and the stress of that moment seemed to fade away right before my very eyes.

I told him I would see him soon, rolled up my window, and drove off. Tears filled my eyes. I prayed right then and right there that Chevron would give him a chance and that he would make the cut. He just looked like he needed to catch a break and get that chance.

That was a year ago.

I walked into that station this morning. Standing there on a quick break, he looked over at me and said..

“You know what? It’s been a year this month that I started here and you know what Chevron has done for me? It helped me buy my first house.”

He was so proud and if I hadn’t been there when he first started, I would never have recognized him. He was a different man. He seemed confident.

I don’t know him. And this is not about me. This is about him. I don’t know who else may ever tell his story. But dang it, I will.

He’s a good man. He just needed a break and maybe some cheerleaders along the way to cheer him on and tell him that he matters and that he is indeed, a good man.

We all need that from time to time, don’t we?

I know I do.

Hey, if you have happened to make it this far and have read this entire post, you’ll see what I am about to say to you and know that in this, I believe it with all my heart. Whoever you might be and where ever in life you might find yourself and whatever you might have done..

You matter. You are valued. You are loved.

2 thoughts on “People Matter.

  1. Pingback: Cheerleading the Unnoticed | Thoughts from the Horizon

  2. Pingback: This time, I got his name.. | Thoughts from the Horizon

Leave a Reply

