A Walk Along The Water..

tannercreek2.jpg

I came here to be intentional. All I carried were these verses, my camera, and a weary heart weighted down by heavy burdens.

28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”Matthew 11:28-30

I went for a walk today alongside that of a creek the size of a river. Or at least it felt that way. With every footstep alongside the rushing water, I began to ask God about these verses. How do I begin?

Pausing for a moment, “Like that of a rushing river, I will take your heavy burdens and wash them towards the heart of God” flowed from mouth without a thought. It was one of those moments one could not script right down to the moment the word “heart” was spoken at just the time I looked down and saw a leaf the shape of a heart.

As I kept walking, I heard the words, “Anywhere along the river is fine.”

Speaking to myself, I responded with “Why not here?”

This time, I could not even begin to fathom what I would see. Of all the places along this creek for me to ask this question, I looked up and saw two trees that had fallen on to the creek in the form of a cross.

If ever there was a right place to cast one’s burdens, this seemed it as I began to list them off and cast them out to the heart of a loving God.

I continue.

This time, I came up to a bridge. To the right the creek rushed past. To the left and so close that you could reach out and merely touch it, a waterfall washed over the cliff, moving swiftly under my feet.

If there were any signs left of my burdens, there weren’t any now as the water seemed to wash them all away.

Walking back, the road was littered with leaves as far as the guy could see. Orange, yellow, and brown illuminated the scenery in such a way, it didn’t even seem real.

Captivated by the amount of leaves scattered about, I heard the words, “These leaves represent your burdens as I took them from you on ascent. Do not turn back to see how far you’ve come. Rather instead, move forward now, only yet this time, much lighter. From here, let Me teach you while you walk in my rest.”

I came here this weekend to seek Him. I have been weary, no doubt, carrying heavy burdens. I leave here feeling much lighter, feeling much more hopeful, and feeling thankful. He does hear me. Perhaps, I just don’t listen.

Photograph by @GunnarSimonsen

 

 

Leave a Reply

